Page 1 of 1

Wireless setup questions

PostPosted: Tue Sep 02, 2008 12:51 am
by Char
Hi,

Im having a lot of problems trying to get the wireless feature to work with this unit. I know its going to be something simple that ive just over looked but advice on peoples setup would be greatly appreciated.

Currently i go to the wireless icon, select the network i wish to join, enter pass key, it then sits there for awhile reading something like 'connecting' but then says 'not connected' almost like it cant get an IP... I have not changed any-other default settings.

Advice please.

Re: Wireless setup questions

PostPosted: Tue Sep 02, 2008 6:47 am
by Trygve
Is it a WEP or WPA-encrypted network?

Do you have the original software on your machine, or have you updated it?
(The original SW doesn't support WPA)

You haven't used any 'special' characters in the network name(SSID) or password?
(Here in Norway that would be characters like 'æ','ø','å', but genereally, anything with accents on it is bad)

Re: Wireless setup questions

PostPosted: Tue Sep 02, 2008 8:21 am
by Char
Hi Trygve

Ive tried both WPA and WEP and both the SSID and key are in standard keys. I havent tried completely removing encryption to at least see if it works yet i'll try that tonight.

But yes i have also updated the wireless to support WPA.

Did you or has anybody else had to manually enter any details?

Re: Wireless setup questions

PostPosted: Tue Sep 02, 2008 8:33 am
by Trygve
For me it was just 'select the network, type in password and you're good to go'.

I think there's an option to set the name of your machine somewhere...
(Possibly in the networking tool on the last screen)
Have you done that?

Don't have my machine or wireless dongle here. Does it have the MAC address listed on the dongle?
If so, you may want to see if it's possible to add a 'reservation' for an IP-address.
(I don't know which access-point/router you're using, so can't tell you how or if it's possible on your equipment)

Are there any other wireless networks within range?
Can you verify that they're NOT using the same channel?

Re: Wireless setup questions

PostPosted: Thu Sep 04, 2008 8:22 am
by Gopal
I could not log on with "passphrase", but had to use the generated key. So if I added "FunkyPassword" as passphrase, my generated and working key looks something like this: 1978E7C67X. You should be able to find it in the configuration panel for your wireless access point.

You might have to use the reset button under the machine. And if that does not work, do the recovery procedure again (http://www.littlelinuxlaptop.com/software/recovery.htm)

Re: Wireless setup questions

PostPosted: Sat Sep 06, 2008 2:15 pm
by Char
Still no luck guys but thanks for all the tips.

I'll let you know what settings i have and if you could please advise if im missing something.

Under the Network Setup icon both global and eth0 all settings are blank except for a tick in the Auto DNS box under eth0 tab.

Within the Wifi icon then selecting [WLAN Settings] once again all settings blank except for ticks in dhcp and Auto DNS.

I understand must of the missing details will be filled once connected to a network but was hoping that there maybe something that has just been left out?

Thanks again
Charlie

Re: Wireless setup questions

PostPosted: Sat Sep 06, 2008 3:50 pm
by Unhban
I received my Elonex OneT+ the other day. I believe it is the same as the Alpha 400. I spent a full afternoon trying to get the WiFi going - it would go in fits and starts. Eventually I remembered that on my Zoom X6 wifi modem/router I'd set the tranmission channel to 11 as this was one of two channels that didn't overlap others. So I changed the channel to 10 and voila! The wifi works perfectly now.

Yes, you want dhcp set on, as this automatiocally configures your machine by talking to your ISP. And yes you want AutoDNS set on.....

You shouldn't need to touch the Network set-up icon if you only use wifi....

Hope this helps!

Re: Wireless setup questions

PostPosted: Mon Sep 08, 2008 9:41 am
by GrumpyOldFella
Same here. My Elonex ONEt wouldn't connect for ages and when it did the connection was extremely fragile and dropped after visiting one or two web pages. Changed the channel from 11 and it has improved. Still not as reliable as I would want but I suspect that may be different with another router.

Re: Wireless setup questions

PostPosted: Mon Sep 22, 2008 11:10 pm
by alun
I have collected wifi fixes here-
http://www.miniwebbook.com/internet

Alun

Re: Wireless setup questions

PostPosted: Sun Nov 09, 2008 6:21 pm
by xdigger
Hi!
I have also problem with Wifi.. Alpha says ip-adress invalid, I use 192.168.0.1/255 with subnetmask 255.255.255.0 on my network.
My other linux computer does not complain(using wire).
I have installed the "wireless fix".

I´ve tried changing to 10.0.0.1/255 and 255.0.0.0, but same message.
I´ve tried disabled encryption and hae tried wep wpa/wpa2.

Anyone having any solution?

Regards
//Kim

Re: Wireless setup questions

PostPosted: Mon Nov 10, 2008 9:22 am
by Trygve
You're not using DHCP on your network?

Which address do you use for GateWay/Router?

Which channel are your WiFi using?
(There seems to be some problems using high-numbered ones)

Re: Wireless setup questions

PostPosted: Thu Jan 01, 2009 11:27 pm
by Leven2e
well done :o !